Versatile frequency controller for operating SAW actuators

The SAW generator has been designed as a universal frequency controller for operation, characterization as well as monitoring of SAW actuators for R & D projects in acoustofluidic applications.

Request Quotation

 

Description of the Solution

Task

Various SAW actuators and acoustic resonators have to be driven with a high-frequency alternating voltage of adjustable frequency and amplitude. The resonators must be characterized first to determine the optimum excitation frequency. During operation a continuous monitoring is necessary so that a manual or automated adjusting is possible

Furthermore, there should be the possibility to trigger a high speed camery at certain moment during experiments.

The task is particularly challenging, since for these purposes complex setups from several cost-intensive measuring and control devices have been necessary so far. Their operation is also very complex and requires extensive knowledge in high-frequency technology. 

With the solution to be developed, the customer therefore has three objectives: Complexity reduction, time savings and cost savings.

Approach

An integrated control device was developed, which implements the required functionality for acoustofluidic experiments of network analyzer, frequency generator, Power amplification and measurement in a single device.

A number of automated scanning functions have been implemented for the characterization of the connected SAW actuators and for the tracking of the excitation frequency. Trigger connections can control external devices.


Key Features

  • Versatile for R & D tasks with SAW actuators
  • Characterization of the connected components
  • Automatic determination and tracking of the optimum excitation frequency
  • Large dynamics range with regard to power and frequency
  • Two-channel version for generating standing wave fields
  • Generation of SAW pulses possible
  • PC software for convenient operation and monitoring
  • Generation and reception of trigger signals (eg for cameras)

 

Details of the Solution

  • sample_image

    All functions of the integrated scalar network analyzer, the signal generator, the power amplifier and the power meter are controlled in a convenient way via the operating software BSG Soft. The connected SAW actuators can be operated using automatic or manual operation modes from the PC.

  • sample_image

    After automatic or manual determination of the optimal excitation frequency the SAW actuator is operated by setting the desired output power. The excitation frequency is regularly re-determined and tracked. A drift of the actuator by heating, aging or loading is thus compensated.

  • sample_image

    Standing waves are required for the manipulation of particles or cells in microfluidic vessels (acoustic Tweezers). The SAW Generator F20 offers a second signal output with separately adjustable power and phase position. Additional functions for complex experimentation tasks are available.

  • State-of-the-art: 
    The SAW- Actuator is initially electrically characterized with a network analyzer to determine the optimum excitation frequency. This requires extensive knowledge of RF electronics (S-parameters). The SAW device must then be connected to the signal generator.

  • sample_image

    State-of-the-art: A signal generator and a power amplifier control the operation of the component with the frequencies identified prior with by network analyzer. A power meter is required for monitoring additionally. For remote control, several devices must be connected to a PC.

  • sample_image

    All functions of the integrated scalar network analyzer, the signal generator, the power amplifier and the power meter are controlled in a convenient way via the operating software BSG Soft. The connected SAW actuators can be operated using automatic or manual operation modes from the PC.

  • sample_image

    After automatic or manual determination of the optimal excitation frequency the SAW actuator is operated by setting the desired output power. The excitation frequency is regularly re-determined and tracked. A drift of the actuator by heating, aging or loading is thus compensated.

  • sample_image

    Standing waves are required for the manipulation of particles or cells in microfluidic vessels (acoustic Tweezers). The SAW Generator F20 offers a second signal output with separately adjustable power and phase position. Additional functions for complex experimentation tasks are available.

  • State-of-the-art: 
    The SAW- Actuator is initially electrically characterized with a network analyzer to determine the optimum excitation frequency. This requires extensive knowledge of RF electronics (S-parameters). The SAW device must then be connected to the signal generator.

  • sample_image

    State-of-the-art: A signal generator and a power amplifier control the operation of the component with the frequencies identified prior with by network analyzer. A power meter is required for monitoring additionally. For remote control, several devices must be connected to a PC.

  • sample_image

    All functions of the integrated scalar network analyzer, the signal generator, the power amplifier and the power meter are controlled in a convenient way via the operating software BSG Soft. The connected SAW actuators can be operated using automatic or manual operation modes from the PC.

your individual solution! request quotation now!


sample_image

The First Choice for Controller Solutions in the Lab.

Temperature control and acoustofluidics:
We offer the gold standard in highest-precision built-in and
benchtop controllers.

sample_image

vielseitiger frequenzregler zum betrieb von saw-aktuatoren

Der SAW Generator wurde als universeller Frequenzregler zum Betrieb von SAW-Aktuatoren in der Akustofluidik entwickelt. 

Angebot anfordern

 

Beschreibung der Lösung

Aufgabenstellung

Verschiedenste SAW-Aktuatoren und akustische Resonatoren sollen mit einer hochfrequenten Wechselspannung einstellbarer Frequenz und Amplitude betrieben werden. Die Resonatoren müssen zunächst charakterisiert werden, um die optimale Anregefrequenz zu bestimmen. Während des Betriebs soll eine kontinuierliche Überwachung stattfinden, sodass man bei Bedarf manuell oder automatisiert nachjustieren kann.

Weiterhin soll die Möglichkeit bestehen, während der Experimente zu bestimmten Zeitpunkten eine Hochgeschwindigkeitskamera auszulösen.

Die Aufgabe gestaltet sich besonders anspruchsvoll, da bisher für diese Zwecke komplexe Aufbauten aus mehreren kostenintensiven Mess- und Ansteuergeräten nötig waren. Deren Bedienung ist zudem sehr aufwändig und erfordert umfangreiche Kenntnisse in der Hochfrequenztechnik.

Mit der zu entwickelnden Lösung verbindet der Kunde daher gleich drei Ziele: Komplexitätsreduktion, Zeitersparnis und Kostenersparnis.

Lösungsansatz

Entwickelt wurde ein integriertes Ansteuergerät, das die für akustofluidische Experimente benötigten Funktionen von Netzwerkanalysator, Frequenzgenerator, Leistungsverstärkung und -messung in einem einzelnen Gerät vereint.

Zur Charakterisierung der angeschlossenen SAW-Aktuatoren und zum Nachführen der Anregefrequenz wurden mehrere automatisierte Scanfunktionen umgesetzt. Über Triggeranschlüsse lassen sich externe Geräte steuern.


Hauptmerkmale

  • Vielseitig einsetzbar für F&E-Aufgaben mit SAW-Aktuatoren
  • Charakterisierung der angeschlossenen Bauelemente
  • Automatisches Bestimmen und Nachführen der optimalen Anregefrequenz
  • Großer Dynamikumfang hinsichtlich Leistung und Frequenz
  • Zweikanalversion zum Erzeugen stehender Wellenfelder
  • Generierung von SAW-Pulsen möglich
  • PC-Software zur komfortablen Bedienung und Überwachung der angeschlossenen SAW-Aktuatoren
  • Erzeugen und Empfangen von Triggersignalen (z.B. für Kameras)

 

Lösungsdetails

  • sample_image

    Die Funktionen des integrierten skalaren Netzwerkanalysators, des Signalgenerators, des Leistungsverstärkers und des Leistungsmessers sind bequem über die Bediensoftware BSG Soft regelbar. Die angeschlossenen SAW-Aktuatoren können automatisiert oder über manuelle Betriebsmodi vom PC aus angesteuert werden.

  • sample_image

    Nach der automatischen oder manuellen Bestimmung der optimalen Anregefrequenz wird der SAW-Aktuator durch Einstellen der gewünschten Ausgangsleistung in Betrieb gesetzt. Die Anregefrequenz wird regelmäßig neu bestimmt und nachgeführt. Eine Drift des Aktuators durch Erwärmung, Alterung oder Beladung wird somit kompensiert.

  • sample_image

    Für die Manipulation von Partikeln oder Zellen in mikrofluidischen Gefäßen (akustische Pinzette) werden stehende Wellen benötigt. Der SAW Generator F20 bietet dazu einen zweiten Signalausgang mit separat einstellbarer Leistung und Phasenlage. Für komplexe Experimentieraufgaben stehen zusätzliche Funktionen zur Verfügung.

  • Ausgangssituation, Stand-der-Technik: Mit einem Netzwerkanalysator wird der SAW-Aktuator zunächst elektrisch charakterisiert, um die optimale Anregefrequenz zu bestimmen. Dies erfordert umfangreiche Kenntnisse in HF-Elektronik (S-Parameter). Anschließend muss das SAW-Bauelement an den Signalgenerator angeschlossen werden.

  • sample_image

    Ausgangssituation, Stand-der-Technik: Ein Signalgenerator und ein Leistungsverstärker regeln den Betrieb des Bauelements auf den mittels Netzwerkanalysator bestimmten Frequenzen. Zur Überwachung ist zusätzlich ein Power Meter erforderlich. Zur Fernsteuerung müssen mehrere Geräte mit einem PC verbunden werden.

  • sample_image

    Die Funktionen des integrierten skalaren Netzwerkanalysators, des Signalgenerators, des Leistungsverstärkers und des Leistungsmessers sind bequem über die Bediensoftware BSG Soft regelbar. Die angeschlossenen SAW-Aktuatoren können automatisiert oder über manuelle Betriebsmodi vom PC aus angesteuert werden.

  • sample_image

    Nach der automatischen oder manuellen Bestimmung der optimalen Anregefrequenz wird der SAW-Aktuator durch Einstellen der gewünschten Ausgangsleistung in Betrieb gesetzt. Die Anregefrequenz wird regelmäßig neu bestimmt und nachgeführt. Eine Drift des Aktuators durch Erwärmung, Alterung oder Beladung wird somit kompensiert.

  • sample_image

    Für die Manipulation von Partikeln oder Zellen in mikrofluidischen Gefäßen (akustische Pinzette) werden stehende Wellen benötigt. Der SAW Generator F20 bietet dazu einen zweiten Signalausgang mit separat einstellbarer Leistung und Phasenlage. Für komplexe Experimentieraufgaben stehen zusätzliche Funktionen zur Verfügung.

  • Ausgangssituation, Stand-der-Technik: Mit einem Netzwerkanalysator wird der SAW-Aktuator zunächst elektrisch charakterisiert, um die optimale Anregefrequenz zu bestimmen. Dies erfordert umfangreiche Kenntnisse in HF-Elektronik (S-Parameter). Anschließend muss das SAW-Bauelement an den Signalgenerator angeschlossen werden.

  • sample_image

    Ausgangssituation, Stand-der-Technik: Ein Signalgenerator und ein Leistungsverstärker regeln den Betrieb des Bauelements auf den mittels Netzwerkanalysator bestimmten Frequenzen. Zur Überwachung ist zusätzlich ein Power Meter erforderlich. Zur Fernsteuerung müssen mehrere Geräte mit einem PC verbunden werden.

  • sample_image

    Die Funktionen des integrierten skalaren Netzwerkanalysators, des Signalgenerators, des Leistungsverstärkers und des Leistungsmessers sind bequem über die Bediensoftware BSG Soft regelbar. Die angeschlossenen SAW-Aktuatoren können automatisiert oder über manuelle Betriebsmodi vom PC aus angesteuert werden.

IHRE INDIVIDUELLE LÖSUNG! JETZT ANGEBOT ANFORDERN!


sample_image

Die erste Wahl für Regler-Lösungen im Laborbereich.

Temperierung und Akustofluidik:
Wir bieten den Goldstandard für höchstpräzise Einbau- und
Laborregler.

sample_image